Enforcement

Employers

How to avoid non-compliance?


Employers may take note of the following common misconceptions to ensure compliance and avoid contravening the law. For details about the employers’ MPF obligations, please refer to the Employer’s Handbook on MPF Obligations.

Expand All Collapse All

Enrolling employees into MPF schemes

Misconception: I don’t have to arrange MPF enrolment for employees who do not fulfil the “418” rule under the Employment Ordinance.

 

Part-time Employees

  • An employee who has been employed continuously by the same employer for four weeks or more, and worked for at least 18 hours each week, is regarded as being employed under a “continuous contract”. It is commonly known as the “418” rule.
  • MPF enrolment is not subject to the “418” rule.
  • The MPF System covers both full-time and part-time employees.
  • No matter how many hours of work they perform in a week, as long as they have been employed for 60 days or more, their employers are required to enrol them into an MPF scheme and make contributions.


Misconception: I can sign a series of short-term employment contracts of less than 60 days with my employees, so that no MPF enrolment is necessary.


Multiple employment contracts of less than 60 days

  • Even if the period of each employment contract is less than 60 days, if there is evidence that an employment relationship exists for 60 days or more, employers are still required to enrol the employees in an MPF scheme.


Misconception: If I change my employees into self-employed persons by signing a written contract for service with them, I am no longer required to arrange MPF enrolment for them.

 

Changing employees to self-employed persons

  • Self-employment is not simply based on an agreement or the signing of a “self-employed” contract between the employer and an employee.
  • It depends on whether an actual employment relationship exists between the two parties.
  • There are different factors to consider when determining this relationship, such as whether the company has considerable control over the employee’s work, whether the company provides work facilities to the employee, and whether the company bears the capital expenditure and financial risk, etc.


Misconception: If my employees do not want to join MPF, I do not have to enrol them into an MPF scheme.


Employees request employer not to enrol them into an MPF scheme

  • It is clearly written in the law that employers have the legal obligation to enrol their employees into an MPF scheme.
  • Even if there is a mutual agreement between the employer and an employee, or even if an employee requests not to join MPF schemes, it does not exempt the employer from the legal obligation to enrol that employee into an MPF scheme.

 

Handling MPF contributions

Employers should ensure prompt payment of MPF contributions for employees and submit duly completed remittance statements to MPF trustees on or before the contribution day (i.e. the 10th day of each month) on a monthly basis. For the contribution day of each month in the current year, please refer to the Contribution Days Calendar.

 

Using online systems or contribution software is the most effective way to avoid being imposed surcharges. At present, all MPF trustees are providing electronic services. To ensure accuracy and save time, employers should make use of the online systems or contribution software provided by MPF trustees to submit their remittance statements and make contributions. Please contact MPF trustees for more details.

Employers should be mindful of the “Common misconceptions in handling MPF contributions” to avoid making late payments or defaulting on payments.

TV programmes and short films
Through TV publicity programmes, MPFA strives to enhance the public’s understanding and requirements of the MPF System so as to help them avoid contravening the law. The relevant TV programmes and short films are as follows: 

Landmark cases


This section sets out some actual enforcement cases that MPFA has handled. The relevant legal requirements are illustrated by the offences committed by some employers. Employers are advised to take note of the lessons of these cases so as to ensure that they comply with the law.

Expand All Collapse All

Case 1: Why do I have another employer?

Parties involved:

 

Ms A (a cosmetologist at Company 1)

Mr B (the sole-proprietor of Company 1)

Ms C (the sole-proprietor of Company 2)

 

Case details

 

Ms A lodged a complaint with MPFA, claiming that although Mr B had enrolled her in an MPF scheme, the MPF enrolment was done three months after the prescribed period (i.e. the first 60 days of Ms A's employment).

Ms A said that Mr B had deducted 5% from her wages every month as employee contributions, but had never paid them to the MPF trustee, nor had he ever paid the employer's contributions for her.

 

MPFA’s investigations and enforcement actions

 

Upon receiving Ms A's complaint, MPFA started an investigation. MPFA met with Mr B and requested him to provide the relevant documents. Mr B denied that he had employed Ms A and insisted that Ms A was employed by another company (Company 2), which was solely owned by Ms C. According to the information from the Business Registration Office, both Company 1 and Company 2 had the same registered business address. However, Company 2’s registration was completed only after the departure of Ms A from Company 1. Moreover, it was found that Mr B had amended Ms A’s date of employment in the enrolment form to tie in with Company 2's registration date to make it seem as though Ms A had been hired by Company 2.

 

It was obvious that Mr B had deliberately made the arrangement to shirk his legal responsibilities and deprive Ms A of her legitimate MPF benefits. After seeking legal advice, MPFA decided to prosecute Mr B for not enrolling Ms A in an MPF scheme within her first 60 days of employment and for not making the relevant contributions for her.

 

In the court hearing, Mr B was convicted and sentenced to 60 hours of community service. The magistrate's judgment pointed out that the court had the responsibility to send a clear message to the public that such offences were serious crimes. A sentence with a strong deterrent effect has to be imposed in order to combat such crimes.

 

Understanding the MPFSO

 

Enrolling employees in an MPF scheme and making contributions for them

 

An employer must enrol both full-time and part-time employees aged 18 to 64 in an MPF scheme within the first 60 days of employment (except for certain exempt persons ). Self-employed persons are also required to enrol themselves in an MPF scheme within the first 60 days of becoming self-employed.

 

Moreover, under the MPF System, Industry Schemes have been established for employers and employees in the catering and construction industries. Employers in the catering and construction industries are required to make contributions for their casual employees (any person employed by an employer on a day-to-day basis or for a fixed period of less than 60 days), even if the employment period is only one day.

 

Legal consequences and penalties

 

Employers who fail to enrol their employees in an MPF scheme or make MPF contributions for them commit an offence and are liable to a maximum fine of $350,000 and imprisonment for three years. Employers who deduct wages of employees as contributions but do not submit the contributions to their MPF trustees are liable to a maximum fine of $450,000 and imprisonment for four years.

 

Case 2: Who is the employer?

Parties involved:

Mr D (waiter)
Ms E (the officer-in-charge of Limited Company 1, Company 2 and Company 3)


Case details

Mr D made a complaint to MPFA about his former employer, Ms E. Every month, Ms E deducted 5% from his salary as MPF contributions, but she had never remitted the contributions to the MPF trustee for Mr D. Mr D said that during his employment, the company had changed its name several times, namely Limited Company 1, Company 2 and Company 3. But he forgot when the name-changing took place. He could only recall that no matter which company had employed him, all employment arrangements were made by Ms E.


MPFA’s investigations and enforcement actions

After receiving the complaint from Mr D, MPFA immediately started an investigation. It was confirmed that Ms E was the manager of Limited Company 1, and that she was also the sole proprietor of Company 2 and Company 3. According to the information provided by the respective MPF trustees and from MPFA’s own records, Limited Company 1 and Company 3 had enrolled Mr D in an MPF scheme but neither company had ever made any contributions for him, while Company 2 had never enrolled him in any MPF scheme.

 

Ms E said that she was merely the manager of Limited Company 1 but not the person-in-charge, and that Company 2 and Company 3 had no money to make contributions because they had been closed down.

 

Although Ms E was only the manager of Limited Company 1, that company had enrolled Mr D in an MPF scheme and, without any reasonable excuse, failed to make contributions for him with her consent or negligence. Therefore, she had breached the MPFSO. Similarly, as the sole proprietor of Company 3, Ms E had also breached the Ordinance by failing to make contributions for Mr D.

 

Moreover, as the sole proprietor of Company 2, Ms E failed to enrol Mr D in an MPF scheme within the first 60 days of his employment. Thus, she had again breached the Ordinance.

 

In view of the above offences, MPFA initiated a prosecution against Ms E. In the court hearing, Ms E was convicted of the above allegations and fined a total of $14,300.

Understanding the MPFSO

Enrolling employees in an MPF scheme and making contributions for them 

 

Employers must enrol both full-time and part-time employees aged 18 to 64 in an MPF scheme within the first 60 days of employment (except for certain exempt persons). Self-employed persons are also required to enrol themselves in an MPF scheme within the first 60 days of becoming self-employed.

 

Moreover, under the MPF System, Industry Schemes have been established for employers and employees in the catering and construction industries. Employers in the catering and construction industries are required to make contributions for their casual employees (any person employed by an employer on a day-to-day basis or for a fixed period of less than 60 days) even if the employment period is only one day.

 

Legal consequences and penalties

 

Employers who fail to enrol their employees in an MPF scheme or make MPF contributions for them commit an offence and are liable to a maximum fine of $350,000 and imprisonment for three years. Employers who deduct wages of employees as MPF contributions but do not submit the contributions to their MPF trustees are liable to a maximum fine of $450,000 and imprisonment for four years.

Case 3: What is genuine self-employment?

Parties involved:

Mr F (cross-border container truck driver)

Mr G (the officer-in-charge of a China-Hong Kong transportation company)

 

Case details

Mr F, a container truck driver who worked between the Mainland and Hong Kong, was employed by Mr G, the officer-in-charge of a China-Hong Kong transportation company. Mr G asked Mr F to set up his own company as a sole proprietor. The business registration fee was shared equally by the transportation company and Mr F. The company signed a truck leasing and rental agreement with Mr F, claiming that no employment relationship existed between them. Mr G said that Mr F was a self-employed person and therefore Mr G’s company did not need to make MPF contributions for him.

 

Mr F said that his duty was to deliver goods using the container truck of Mr G’s company and that all the work was arranged by the company. His pay was calculated in the form of profit sharing between them. The company paid him by depositing a cheque in his bank account every month. Mr F could not refuse the work arranged by Mr G’s company. Also, the container truck was owned by Mr G’s company, which never charged Mr F any rental fee.

 

All expenses relating to the container truck, such as maintenance fees, vehicle insurance and vehicle license fees, as well as all the daily expenses of Mr F in relation to his work, such as fuel charges, bridge tolls, tunnel tolls, customs fees and line-up fees, were paid by Mr G’s company. Mr F did not need to pay any capital expenditure or bear any other financial risks. He was never involved in determining the fees that Mr G’s company charged its customers, nor was he involved in the operation and management of the company.

 

Mr F thought that he was an employee of Mr G’s company and not a self-employed person, so he made a complaint to MPFA.

 

MPFA’s investigations and enforcement actions


MPFA contacted Mr G immediately and requested him to provide the related documents. The company provided a signed truck leasing and rental agreement with Mr F, and claimed that no employment relationship existed between the company and Mr F.

 

After meeting with Mr G, MPFA took a written statement from him, in which Mr G denied the charges and insisted that Mr F was not the company's employee.

 

Finally, as there was sufficient evidence, MPFA decided to prosecute Mr G’s company for not enrolling Mr F in an MPF scheme. The employer eventually pleaded guilty in court, and was convicted and fined $14,000.

 

Understanding the MPFSO

 

Definition of a self-employed person

Under the MPF System, a self-employed person is someone who receives income from the provision of services or goods in a capacity other than that of an employee. Self-employment is based not simply on an agreement between the employer and the employee, or the signing of a “self-employed contract”. It depends on whether an actual employment relationship exists between the two parties.

There are different factors to consider when determining the relationship between both parties, such as whether the company has considerable control over the employee’s work, whether the company provides work facilities to the employee, and whether the company bears the capital expenditure and financial risks, etc.


Legal consequences and penalties

 

Employers who require their employees to change their status to “self-employed persons” intentionally without enrolling them in an MPF scheme thereafter are regarded as evading their MPF responsibilities. Employers who fail to enrol their employees in an MPF scheme or default on MPF contributions commit an offence and are liable to a maximum fine of $350,000 and imprisonment for three years. Employers who deduct wages of employees as MPF contributions but do not submit the contributions to their MPF trustees are liable to a maximum fine of $450,000 and imprisonment for four years.

Case 4: Do employers need to make MPF contributions for short-term contract staff?

Parties involved:

 

Mr H (security guard)

Mr I (the officer-in-charge of a security company)

 

Case details

 

Mr H used to be employed by a security company. He left the job after about four months. He later found that the security company had not enrolled him in an MPF scheme, and, therefore, no MPF contributions had been made for him. He immediately made a complaint to MPFA.

 

MPFA’s investigations and enforcement actions

 

MPFA started an investigation immediately upon receipt of Mr H’s complaint. In addition to collecting evidence from Mr H, MPFA met with Mr I, the officer-in-charge of the security company, and requested relevant information from him.

 

The investigation revealed that Mr H had signed two employment contracts with the security company during the employment period. The employment period of each contract was 59 days, and the two contracts were separated by seven days. On the surface, it appeared that Mr H had only been temporarily employed and, therefore, in accordance with the MPFSO, the security company was not required to enrol him in an MPF scheme and make contributions for him.

 

However, after further investigations, it was found that the second employment contract of 59 days was signed even before the first employment contract was completed. There was a so-called “cooling period” between the two contracts, which lasted for only seven days.

 

Mr H confirmed that he had continued to work during this cooling period. MPFA subsequently met with Mr I, who initially denied the allegations of non-enrolment and default contribution, claiming that Mr H was a temporary employee and would report for duty only when it was necessary. It was not until the second "pre-signed" employment contract was presented that Mr I admitted that there was a problem. But he insisted that it was just a mistake and an isolated incident.

 

MPFA, after seeking legal advice, decided to prosecute the security company. In the end, the security company pleaded guilty in court. It was convicted and fined $18,500.

 

Understanding the MPFSO

 

The 60-day employment rule (#Not applicable to casual workers under the Industry Schemes)

 

According to the MPFSO, an employer must enrol both full-time and part-time employees aged 18 to 64 in an MPF scheme within the first 60 days of employment. The “60-day” rule:

 

  • is counted by calendar days (including holidays);
  • is determined by the employment relationship between the employee and the employer (the number of the employee’s actual working days or hours is irrelevant); and
  • covers both full-time and part-time employment.

An employer cannot evade its MPF obligations by intentionally breaking up an employee’s employment into periods of less than 60 days. If there is evidence that the employment relationship lasts for 60 days or more, the employer must enrol the employee in an MPF scheme and make the necessary contributions. Employers in the catering and construction industries who participate in the Industry Schemes are required to make contributions for their casual employees (any person employed by an employer on a day-to-day basis or for a fixed period of less than 60 days), even if the employment period is only one day.

 

Legal consequences and penalties

 

Employers who fail to enrol their employees in an MPF scheme within the first 60 days of employment commit an offence and are liable to a maximum fine of $350,000 and imprisonment for three years.

執法

僱主

如何避免違規?

 

僱主可細閱以下常見誤解,並遵守有關規定,以免誤墮法網。有關僱主強積金責任的詳盡資訊,可參閱《僱主手冊》。 

全部開啟 全部收起

安排僱員登記參加強積金計劃

誤解:我無須安排不符合《僱傭條例》下「418」規則的僱員登記參加強積金計劃。

 

兼職僱員

  • 僱員如連續受僱於同一僱主四星期或以上,而每星期至少工作18小時,會被視為按「連續性合約」受僱,俗稱「418」規則
  • 登記參加強積金計劃並不受「418」規則所限
  • 強積金制度同時涵蓋全職及兼職僱員
  • 不論僱員每星期的工作時數多少,只要他們受僱60日或以上,僱主便須為他們登記參加強積金計劃並作出供款



誤解:
我與僱員簽訂一連串僱用期少於60日的短期僱傭合約,便無須為他們登記參加強積金計劃。


以多份僱用期少於60日的僱傭合約僱用員工

  • 即使每份僱傭合約的僱用期少於60日,如有證據證明雙方的僱傭關係長達60日或以上,僱主仍須為僱員登記參加強積金計劃


誤解:如果我與僱員簽訂書面服務合約,把僱員轉為自僱人士,我便無須為他們登記參加強積金計劃。

把僱員轉為自僱人士

  • 自僱安排並非純粹根據僱主與僱員的協議或所簽訂的「自僱人士」合約而定
  • 須視乎雙方實際上是否存有僱傭關係
  • 釐定雙方關係,要考慮不同因素,例如,公司對他的工作的控制權、所用設備是否由公司提供,是否須承擔資本開支或財務風險等


誤解:如果僱員不想參加強積金,我便無須為他們登記參加強積金計劃。

僱員要求僱主不要為他登記參加強積金

  • 僱主有法律責任為僱員登記參加強積金計劃
  • 僱主與僱員之間的相互協議,甚或是由僱員主動提出不要參加強積金的要求,均不會免除僱主須為僱員登記參加強積金的法律責任
 
處理強積金供款

僱主應確保每月在供款日(即每月的10號)或之前,向強積金受託人提交填妥的付款結算書及準時供款。有關本年各個月份的供款日,請瀏覽「強積金供款日」年曆。

 

使用網上系統或軟件是最有效避免徵收附加費的方法。現時所有強積金受託人都有提供電子服務,僱主應使用網上系統或軟件提交付款結算書及作出供款,既準確又省時。請聯絡強積金受託人了解詳情。

 

僱主應留意「處理強積金供款常見誤解」,以免被視作逾期或拖欠供款。

電視節目及短片

積金局透過電視宣傳,以加強大眾對強積金制度的認識及規定,以免誤墜法網。有關電視宣傳短片如下: 

 

檢控個案實錄

本部分列舉積金局多個真實執法個案,透過涉案人物觸犯的罪行解釋相關法例規定,希望僱主引以為鑑,切勿以身試法。

全部開啟 全部收起

個案一 : 真假僱主?

人物:

A女士(甲公司美容師) 
B先生(甲公司獨資經營者)
C女士(乙公司獨資經營者)

個案內容
A
女士向積金局投訴,指B先生有安排她登記參加強積金計劃,但有關登記手續是在有關特准限期(即A女士受僱滿60日)到期日的三個月後才辦理。

A女士表示,B先生每月均從她的薪金中扣除5%作為僱員部分的供款,但卻從沒有替她將供款支付予其強積金受託人。B先生亦從沒有為她作出僱主部分的供款。

積金局的調查及執法行動
積金局收到投訴後隨即展開調查,並要求B先生與局方會面及提供相關資料。B先生否認曾聘請A女士,更堅稱A女士是由另一獨資經營者C女士(乙公司)所聘請。根據商業登記署的資料,甲公司的地址除B先生的商業登記外,另有乙公司的商業登記紀錄。然而,乙公司的商業登記手續是在A女士離職後才辦理。此外,在A女士的強積金登記表格上,B先生亦擅自更改了A女士的入職日期,以配合乙公司的成立註冊日期,令人以為A女士是乙公司所僱用的。

明顯地,這是僱主B先生的故意安排,以逃避法律責任,而有關行為亦損害了A女士應有的強積金權益。積金局徵詢了法律意見後,決定檢控B先生沒有在A女士受僱首60日內為她登記參加強積金計劃,以及沒有為她作出相關的供款。

最後法庭裁定B先生罪名成立,被判60小時社會服務令。裁判官的判詞指出,法庭有責任向公眾發出清楚訊息,令公眾明白,類似的犯法行為屬嚴重罪行,故必須判以較具阻嚇性的刑罰,以打擊有關罪行。

認識《強積金法例》

安排僱員登記參加強積金計劃及作出供款

僱主必須為所有年滿18歲至64歲的全職及兼職僱員,於其受僱首60日內為其登記參加強積金計劃(部分獲豁免人士除外)。自僱人士亦必須在成為自僱人士的首60日內登記參加強積金計劃。

另外,強積金制度下特設行業計劃,供建造業及飲食業的僱主及僱員參加。建造業及飲食業的臨時僱員(即按日僱用或僱用期少於60日的僱員),即使只受僱一天,僱主亦必須為該僱員作出供款。

法律後果及懲處

僱主沒有為僱員登記參加強積金計劃或為僱員作出強積金供款,即屬違法,最高可被罰款$35萬及監禁三年。僱主如在僱員的入息中扣除供款後沒有把供款支付予強積金受託人,最高可被罰款$45萬及監禁四年。

個案二 : 誰是僱主?

人物:

D先生(侍應) 
E女士(甲有限公司、乙公司和丙公司負責人)

個案內容
D先生向積金局投訴他的前僱主E女士,指她每月均從他的薪金中扣除5%作為強積金供款,但卻從沒有替他將供款支付予強積金受託人。D先生表示在受僱期間,公司曾多次更改名稱,分別是甲有限公司、乙公司及丙公司,但D先生已忘記公司在何時更改名稱,只記得不論是哪一間公司僱用他,均由E女士聘請及安排工作。

積金局的調查及執法行動
積金局收到投訴後隨即展開調查,證實E女士是甲有限公司的經理,同時亦是乙公司和丙公司的獨資經營者。根據相關強積金受託人及積金局的資料,甲有限公司及丙公司曾為D先生登記參加強積金計劃,卻從來沒有替他作出供款,而乙公司則從來沒有安排他參加任何強積金計劃。

E女士表示她只是甲有限公司的經理,而不是負責人;至於乙公司和丙公司,由於已結束營業,因此再沒有資金作出供款。

雖然E女士只是甲有限公司的經理,但該公司因她的同意或疏忽,在無合理辯解的情況下,只為D先生登記參加強積金計劃而沒有為他供款,因此違反了《強積金條例》。同樣地,E女士作為丙公司的獨資經營者,亦沒有為D先生供款,因而再次違反條例。

此外,E女士作為乙公司的獨資經營者,沒有在D先生受僱首60日內為他登記參加強積金計劃,因此再三違反條例。

就上述多項違規事項,積金局向E女士提出檢控。經法庭審訊後,E女士被裁定以上各指控罪名成立,合共罰款$14,300。

認識《強積金法例》

安排僱員登記參加強積金計劃及作出供款

僱主必須為所有年滿18歲至64歲的全職及兼職僱員,於其受僱首60日內為其登記參加強積金計劃(部分獲豁免人士除外)。自僱人士亦必須在成為自僱人士的首60日內登記參加強積金計劃。

另外,強積金制度下特設行業計劃,供建造業及飲食業的僱主及僱員參加。建造業及飲食業的臨時僱員(即按日僱用或僱用期少於60日的僱員),即使只受僱一天,僱主亦必須為該僱員作出供款。

法律後果及懲處

僱主沒有為僱員登記參加強積金計劃或為僱員作出強積金供款,即屬違法,最高可被罰款$35萬及監禁三年。僱主如在僱員的入息中扣除供款後,沒有把供款支付予相關的強積金受託人,最高可被罰款$45萬及監禁四年。

 
個案三 : 自僱人士-假的真不了?

人物 : 

F先生(中港貨櫃車司機) 
G先生(中港運輸公司負責人)

個案內容
F先生是一名中港貨櫃車司機,一直受聘於僱主G先生的中港運輸公司。G先生要求F先生成立一家獨資經營的公司,而該獨資經營公司的商業登記費由G先生的運輸公司及F先生平均分擔。其後,G先生的公司與F先生簽訂承租及出租貨櫃車協議書,當中列明雙方沒有僱傭關係。G先生指F先生已是自僱人士,因此公司無須為其支付強積金供款。

F先生表示,他的職責只限於替G先生的公司駕駛貨櫃車運載貨物,所有工作均由G先生的公司安排,他的薪金以拆帳形式計算,每月由G先生的公司以支票存入F先生的銀行戶口。F先生不能拒絕G先生的公司所安排的工作。此外,他工作時所駕駛的貨櫃車亦是由G先生的公司擁有,而G先生的公司從來沒有向F先生收取租車費。

另外,與貨櫃車有關的一切支出,例如維修費用、汽車保險費及汽車牌照費,以及與F先生執行日常工作有關的所有支出,例如汽油費、橋路費、隧道費、過關費及入線費等,均由G先生的公司支付。F先生亦不須承擔任何資本開支或財務風險,而他亦從來沒有權利參與釐訂G先生的公司向客戶收取的費用及參與公司的管理營運。

F先生認為,他是G先生的公司的僱員,而並非自僱人士,於是向積金局投訴。

積金局的調查及執法行動
積金局即時聯絡G先生了解詳情,並要求他提供相關文件。G先生出示與F先生簽訂的承租及出租貨櫃車協議書,聲稱與F先生之間並不存有僱傭關係。

之後,積金局與G先生會面,並錄取了一份書面口供。在供詞中,G先生否認有關控罪,並堅稱F先生並非其公司僱員。

最後,積金局掌握了充分證據,決定向F先生的公司提出檢控,指其作為僱主而沒有為G先生登記參加強積金計劃。該僱主最終在法院承認有關控罪,被裁定罪名成立,合共罰款$14,000。

認識《強積金法例》

自僱人士的定義

在強積金制度下,自僱人士是指以非僱員身分提供服務或貨品來賺取入息的人士。自僱的安排並非純粹根據僱主與僱員的協議或所簽訂的「自僱人士」合約而定,須視乎雙方實際上是否仍存有僱傭關係

要釐定雙方關係,要考慮不同因素,例如公司對他的工作的控制權、所用設備是否由公司提供,是否須承擔資本開支或財務風險等。

法侓後果及懲處

如僱主蓄意要求僱員轉為「自僱人士」,而不為僱員登記參加強積金計劃,將被視為逃避僱主的強積金責任。僱主沒有為僱員登記參加強積金計劃或拖欠強積金供款,即屬違法,最高可被罰款$35萬及監禁三年。僱主如在僱員的入息中扣除供款後,沒有將供款支付予相關的強積金受託人,最高可被罰款$45萬及監禁四年。

個案四 : 僱主須為短期合約僱員供強積金嗎?

人物:

 

H先生(警衛員) 

I先生(護衛公司負責人)

個案內容
H先生受僱於一間護衛公司,工作約四個月後離職。他其後發現,護衛公司一直沒有為他登記參加強積金計劃,亦沒有為他作出強積金供款,於是向積金局投訴。

積金局的調查及執法行動
積金局接獲投訴後隨即展開調查,除了搜集證據外,亦約見護衛公司的負責人I先生及要求提供相關資料。

調查發現,H先生於受僱期內,曾先後與護衛公司簽訂兩份僱傭合約,每份合約的僱用期均為59日,而兩份合約之間相隔七日。表面看來,H先生只是短暫受僱,護衛公司因此無須按《強積金條例》的規定,為H先生登記參加強積金計劃及為他作出相關供款。

然而,經進一步調查後,積金局發現該護衛公司於第一份僱傭合約尚未完結前,已安排H先生簽署另一份同樣為期59日的僱傭合約。兩份合約相隔僅七日,即俗稱的「過冷河」。

H先生證實,他於「過冷河」期間仍然需要上班。積金局其後與I先生會面。I先生起初否認沒有安排僱員登記參加強積金計劃及拖欠供款的指控,聲稱H先生只是臨時工,有需要才會要求H先生上班。直至積金局人員向I先生出示第二份「預先」簽署的僱傭合約,他才承認犯錯,但仍然辯稱是由於人為疏忽才導致出錯,並堅稱這只是個別事件。

積金局在諮詢法律意見後,決定檢控該護衛公司。最後,該護衛公司在法院承認有關控罪,被裁定罪名成立,合共罰款$18,500。

認識《強積金法例》

受僱「60日」的定義(#不適用於參加行業計劃的臨時僱員)

根據《強積金條例》,僱主必須為所有年滿18歲至64歲的全職及兼職僱員,在其受僱首60日內登記參加強積金計劃。這個「60日」的規定:

- 應按曆日計算(包括假期);
- 應按僱員和僱主的僱傭關係釐定,與實際工作日數及時數無關;以及
- 適用於全職或兼職工作。

僱主不可蓄意把僱員的僱用期分拆為每段少於60日的僱用期,藉以逃避強積金責任。假如僱傭關係實際達60日或以上,僱主必須為僱員登記參加強積金計劃及供款。建造業及飲食業的臨時僱員(即按日僱用或僱用期少於60日的僱員),即使受僱一天,僱主亦必須為該僱員作出供款。

法律後果及懲處

僱主如沒有在僱員受僱首60日內為僱員登記參加強積金計劃,即屬違法,最高可被罰款$35萬及監禁三年。