MPF Investment

Investment Portfolios

When a scheme member joins an MPF scheme, the trustee will provide the member with an MPF Scheme Brochure (or referred to as an “offering document”). This document contains details of all the funds available in the scheme. The trustee will allocate fund units to the scheme member’s account according to the member’s investment choices, forming the investment portfolio.

 

Risk tolerance level

 

Different types of funds have different risk levels. Therefore, scheme members should assess their risk tolerance level before choosing a fund or funds. Key factors affecting the risk tolerance level of scheme members include investment horizon, investment appetite and other savings and investments for retirement. 

 

Asset allocation

 

Scheme members may choose their investments according to their risk appetite. If their risk tolerance level is relatively high, they can consider a growth portfolio with a higher proportion of equity funds. If their risk tolerance level is relatively low, they can consider a conservative portfolio with a larger proportion of conservative assets.

There is no absolute standard for asset allocation in any portfolio. Different funds have different benefits and risk levels. The key is to choose a portfolio that matches one’s risk tolerance level.

 

Review portfolio regularly

Depending on the age of the scheme member, the MPF investment horizon can be as long as over 40 years. Scheme members should therefore review their investment portfolios regularly. They can consider gradually reducing their holdings of higher-risk assets (e.g. stocks) while increasing their holdings of lower-risk assets (e.g. bonds) as they get older in order to reduce investment risk.

For more information on choosing funds and reviewing portfolios, please visit the thematic website on MPF investment education.

强积金投资

投资组合

参加强积金计划时,受托人会提供强积金计划说明书(或称要约文件)。该文件会列出计划提供的全部基金的详情。受托人将会按照计划成员所选的基金购入基金单位,成为投资组合。

 

承受风险能力

 

不同种类基金的风险程度各异,所以在挑选基金之前,应先了解自己的承受风险能力。影响承受风险能力的主要因素包括投资期、投资取向以及为退休所作的其他储蓄或投资等。

 

投资分配

 

按承受风险能力决定投资分配。假如承受风险能力较高,可考虑一个股票基金占较高比例的增长型投资组合;如承受风险能力较低,可考虑保守类型资产占较高比例的保守型投资组合。

 

资产分配没有一个绝对的标准组合,不同基金有不同的特点及风险程度等,最重要是选择一个最能配合个人承受风险能力的组合。

定期检讨投资组合

视乎计划成员的年龄,强积金的投资期可以长达超过四十年,因此应定期检讨投资组合,考虑随年龄增长逐步减持风险较高的资产(例如股票),并相应增持风险较低的资产(例如债券),以减低投资风险。

 

浏览积金局的强积金投资教育专题网站,了解更多如何挑选及检视投资组合。